A Hushed Definition Of Who I Am

 

More than a knife cutting me to several pieces

Chopping, grinding, and burning on a blazing fire

I am unattached when I cannot seem to tell

In the open honesty I am still in my own private box

 

When I am quiet, I am depressing

I am looping with glitches on wrecking rails

Don’t know when to stop without patting myself

At times of this difficult mistake I am nonchalant

 

I am a man of nothing, a man nothing but a skin

I kill my confidence when trapped in your disease

Heeding, I made a distance from your presence

I cannot retire from a parody of loneliness

 

You read me like an easy book

Much to my words I am printed with many chapters

Between the pages of my life are covered hinges

A hushed definition of who I am

2008

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Hushed Definition Of Who I Am

  1. boomiebol says:

    Hey! I have nominated you for the TMI award. Please visit http://boomiebol.wordpress.com/ to receive it now. Keep writing!

  2. mzuritam says:

    I really like the last three lines of this poem. It’s interesting to me how books are so full of words, yet readers find inuendos and hidden meanings, all opposite of the words. Sometimes we know each other by our words, but usually we know each other by the “between the lines.”

Leave a comment