Parting Is Not Our Lullaby

 

It’s over

No happy ever after

Our fairytale is satire

Ending where we

Cannot start good

 

It’s nothing

Everything is hollow

Dead and consuming

We cannot start good

Ending is ending

 

Most of us

Torn our hearts

We cannot gain

Losing is more than this

Our breaking breaks

 

Taking easily, slowly

Masking the hurts

Our pretense is an epilogue

It’s more than goodbye

Parting is not our lullaby

 

 

2012

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Parting Is Not Our Lullaby

  1. I can feel your words completely, this is so intensely beautiful.

  2. clintonspel says:

    nice use of words chester. good post! 🙂

  3. Great post and very evocative. Really like this 🙂

  4. ~R.L.King says:

    lol, seems we have all suffered some little hiccups in our dreams lately…carry on. I have faith

  5. Jixi Fox says:

    i am feeling this

  6. Kim says:

    Chester I can really feel this poem……wonderfully written……..thank God it is not my present reality 🙂 Thanks for liking my Mother’s Day post and for deciding to follow my blog “Unwalled”…..I am truly honored. I will be checking out more of your writings…….all the best!….Kim

  7. I liked this one. Thanks for viewing my stuff. Welcome aboard.

  8. mikojose says:

    This poem is really good!

Leave a comment