The Country Poem

 

The nature of poetry

The smells of evergreen

These words I write

This country poem

 

Those summer’s daffodils

Those nightingales’ lullabies

I smell the alpine woods

I watch the vagabonds

 

There are canyons and valleys

There are honeybees and cucumbers

I taste the words from my hands

The words of this country poem

 

Our myriad worships to God

They are endless, unnumbered

Our treasures are written

On this sheet of a country poem

 

 

2011

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Country Poem

  1. Pawan Hira (awakeningpsyche) says:

    Loved the imagery of country side. Beautiful flow of words. 🙂

  2. jymiely says:

    i could smell it Chester, vivid imagery you got here..thank you 🙂

  3. nightlake says:

    lovely write-up:)

  4. I absolutely love the word vagabonds – thanks for the reminder and ty also for coming over to my blogs 🙂 Lesley

  5. WELL written, simply expressed in a understandng of words, descriptive. i love nature. God Bless

  6. Imelda says:

    love the beat, the idyllic imagery. 🙂

  7. mistagoodkat says:

    I like…I like…. onegoodkat.com

  8. Chester, thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

    I’ve read several of your poems, wonderful wordsmith. Somehow, the following

    “I taste the words from my hands” really captivated me. Keep tasting!

    Continued blessings. xox

  9. joejohyde says:

    i love this one.

  10. This is a provocative collage of vivid identifiable scenes and scents. Few words have become effective couriers of files from the brain. To be shared and re-cherished. Thanks…Doug

Leave a Reply

