The Beauty Of A Wedlock

 

Flower blossoming fresh perfume

Skylark humming an angel tune

Ocean breezing divine in June

Clouds hiding ugly afternoon

 

I am a lover waiting

I am a paddle sailing

I am a teacher preaching

I am a belfry ringing

 

This is our sacred rite

I am your man standing

My woman, come to me in a hurry

Cherish you a drink like a wine-sherry

 

 

2005

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Beauty Of A Wedlock

  1. Pawan Hira (awakeningpsyche) says:

    “Ocean breezing divine in June…”
    Lovely.

  2. julienmatei says:

    Love this:

    I am a lover waiting

    I am a paddle sailing

    I am a teacher preaching

    I am a belfry ringing

  3. bribees says:

    I love the way that you structured your stanzas. Each line of your first stanza could be broken into two different lines but you make them work so well as one. I love the “-ing” endings in your second stanza. Finally, you bring it all home in your extremly visual last stanza. Now, the last stanza is my favorite. it has a visual feeling the other stanzas don’t. You don’t have to use visual word like you do in your first stanza and it has a relatability that you don’t quite draw out with the personal-ness of your second stanza. over all, this is a very nice poem. 🙂
    Stay healthy,
    Bribee

    • Thanks Bribbes for leaving me such an honest comment and this will inspire and encourage me more to continually write fresh poems! Thanks for liking my poem too, I really appreciate this so much! 🙂

      • bribees says:

        ha ha glad I could help 🙂 Feel free to let me know your thoughts on my works as well. I’m glad that I could help encourage you and flattered that I helped to inspire you.
        Stay healthy,
        Bribee

  4. betarimerah says:

    thanks chester, for following my blog 🙂
    I follow u too 🙂

  5. by any chance were you married in june 2005? my wife and i were married in september 2005 on a hot day in arizona. nearly seven yrs later, it gets ‘hotter’ every day. love the poems. thanks for visiting our blog and ‘like’ing us
    mike

  6. nightlake says:

    These are so nicely written, ‘Ocean breezing divine in June
    Clouds hiding ugly afternoon’
    A very nice song.

  7. Lamberta says:

    part of me thinks it’s odd that each stanza has it’s own end rhyme. It’s good, but I just don’t really fly that flag much.

  8. lorica clarin says:

    words wonderfully weaved

  9. All I can say is “wow”. Your work is amazingly great! Wonderful. I tip my hat off to you. Yours is what real poetry is. Thanks for sharing your pieces.

  10. I really like your poems! But maybe you could write one NOT about love? Just a though! Thanks for liking my poem!

Leave a Reply

