Beneath The Soul That Ties With The Ridiculous Self Of Detachment

I remember when
songs have left colors
in the sky and some
television becomes
a satire of love stories
and the next thing on
my mind are peculiar
palavers by the
strange crowd

These are the days
when the timid sun
is spoiled by the rain
and the children on
the streets are
playing paper boats
and hide ‘n seek

When everybody
is full of work
and i’m left
sitting on the porch
and writing randomly
verses of myths
or retold facts
i feel i’m home

It’s not anyone’s
business and i’m
like a free bird
drifting on air

This malady of
being one in a world
full of traffic noise
is captured by
hands that scribble
luscious quantities
of poems and poetry

I know I’ve been
at the brink of
obvious solitary
ready to pull
the energies from
beneath the soul
that ties with
the ridiculous self
of detachment

I’m living this life
these hours when
in between minutes
are filled with
remembering and
regrets

I don’t know
how to end
but i feel
i’m leading an army
of pages and words
waiting to be
published for
this world to read

This is exactly
what dreams are
made for me

What makes me wander?
this drifting is drifting
i must admit
i need to reconnect

2012

 

 

 

 

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Beneath The Soul That Ties With The Ridiculous Self Of Detachment

  1. dannypereyra says:

    A lot of good stuff in this poem, really emotional. Really liked your phrasing too, how you chose to break the lines up. Nice.
    “I’m living this life \ These hours when \ In between minutes \ Are filled with \ Remembering and \ Regrets”

  2. eldinsmille says:

    I enjoy in your poems every time.

  3. sirrah says:

    Hey Chester..Your thoughts,poetry…I enjoy

  4. boomiebol says:

    This my be one of my favorites from you :). Very nice

  5. Oh, I have to tell you that for me this poem is great. I lived every word, felt the noise, calm, breeze with the smell of traffic and its sound.. children playing and the feeling inside, that creature in your soul asking, craving for more, for a reason to go on, for an acknowledgement. All the dreams, the consciousness… Just the perfect rhythm, images.. chapeau.

    • many thanks for feeling what is being said in my poem…thanks for your kind comment and for liking this one. I am encouraged to write more and to continue polishing my skill in poetry writing! 🙂

  6. poetryandmusings says:

    Perfectly said!!!

  7. catterel says:

    Hi! I’ve just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Hope that’s OK? Congratulations!

  8. catterel says:

    Hello again – I guess my coffee hadn’t percolated through to my brain this morning. The main award I nominated you for is the 7×7 Link! Please accept .

  9. Hayley says:

    Preach! Thanks for subscribing

  10. I really love your poems! it’s filled with emotional and your phrase ; the choice of words really great! It’s nothing to compare with my creation tho 😀 Thanks for subscribing!

  11. Kim says:

    I like how you keep it cretively real ;)…….thanks for liking my Ftaher’s Day post…..my dad was a terriffic person to many people………keep blogging:)…..Kim

  12. cloxdaabsentee says:

    “I’m leading an army
    Of pages and words”….
    “When the timid sun
    Is spoiled by the rain”…

    These are the choice lines that really took me on the journey with you.

    “I’ve been At the brink of Obvious solitary
    Ready to pull The energy
    from Beneath the soul That ties
    with The ridiculous self detachment”

    Thats how I would have written the 6th verse. Anyway all of that to say your words pulled me in so much . I could see myself in them.

  13. lovepages77 says:

    I’ve red quite a few of your poems, since you were the first to “like” one of mine (Thanks about that), and was quite exited to read through & understand who you were… In this poem I b.liv your soul shows perfectly through your words, not only revealing the serious_bold_honesty of the other ones i red, but also a relaxed_timid_smiling star beneath! Am I wrong? 🙂

    • you’re welcome and thanks too! yes, you indeed made a good guess at how you describe what my soul is…I’m glad you read my poems as well! Goodluck at your writing! 🙂

  14. Terri O.A. says:

    This poem is just full of light….and I loved it!

  15. I love this poem…..It has a writer’s soul in it. Writing is how I always dealt with….everything, really, so I can picture it easily.

Leave a Reply

