Anchorage Of Pen And Ink

 

The lips of summer burn me

And my hands are nothing but

Anchorage of pen and ink

 

I return to the ages when turtles

Are born to entertain kids

And I forget the stubborn mouth

Of children playing at my yard

 

The petals of magnolia brought

Virgin scents eloping with the air

And I hear myself talking to the horses

 

Deaf is the world when all is laughing

Yet man’s happy thoughts are seen

 

I sing where the summer hides

I mimic when the silence dies

 

 

2012

 

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Anchorage Of Pen And Ink

  1. The Enfant Terrible says:

    Excellent!

  2. I sing where the summer hides I mimic when the silence dies… beautiful, love this line especially, thanks!

  3. globalunison says:

    The words touch my heart! Great one!
    -Naima.

  4. Nice. The first verse is my favourite.

  5. Beautiful images! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Chester I came by to say thank you for following my blog and liking my recent post – what a pleasure to find such a poet! I don’t write a lot of poems, only when I feel full and can’t express the fullness any other way but you are truly gifted. God bless you and thanks once again! I will certainly be dropping by again :).

  7. Hi chester, Thanks for sharing your writing and coming by to read and comment. Nice work! laura

  8. kolembo says:

    Wow, you’re really good.
    It’s a whole new way of writing words for me…your phrasing.

    It’s really beautiful.

  9. dannypereyra says:

    Those first three lines are great.

  10. theinkbrain says:

    “Virgin scents eloping with the air…”
    Lovely.

  11. Ajinkya says:

    i really liked it, great

  12. Hi Chester, i love the ‘virgin scents eloping with the air”. I’m looking forward to reading all your work .Thanks so much for reading mine.

Leave a Reply

