tempest

frogs leap from the paddock

of one stormy night

rain drops in endless dripping

a haze of morning comes

the torrent won’t end

public folds pants above their knees

aged men paddle from deep zone

it is a tempest’s curse

fiords left springing from side to side

the avalanche of weeping slithers my ears

2009

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to tempest

  1. dannypereyra says:

    This really intrigued me. Its powerful, and took me a few readings to truly understand the ideas and images you were portraying. Love reading your work.

    • thanks Danny. I was inspired to write this poetry when I was living in Vietnam near the field, one stormy night. I’m glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

      • dannypereyra says:

        I very much like it, and the visceral and descriptions that elicit real emotion. I’m very much a fan of your work but would love to know about your work/history.

  2. dannypereyra says:

    “…and the visceral descriptions…” , “…but would to know more about you and your history…”

  3. you nailed this one Sugar . . . πŸ™‚

  4. lisharvey says:

    Great Job as Always. what inspire you?

  5. Kharma says:

    I agree with many others. Your wordsmithing is inspirational, but for bozos or newbies, like myself, a lil background for such interesting, different wordings would be helpful and very insightful, as well.

  6. albert21199 says:

    very good!!!!!

  7. lillianccc says:

    I can practically SEE myself in the tempest. Poetry at its best. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

