Mysteries

 

I spent the selfish hours

in my quiet haven

where my eyes can see

and my skin can feel

the pictures of private

fairytales and the

hearts of lonely valentines

 

There are sounds that only

my ears can explain why

things are so audible

only to those who

know how to listen

 

There are photographs

that only my eyes can

look beyond what is

there behind the frozen

stills of life that copy

the sufferings or

gladness of someone

 

I know how to question

the mysteries surrounding

me and the unknown

answers are somewhere

deep in my longing

that i cannot

totally comprehend

 

I begin to see life

when i begin to smile

at the birth of babies

and cry at the funerals

of old men and women

 

This is what i am and

i’m nowhere beyond

this world that can

selfishly separate

what has been

predetermined

 

 

2012

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Mysteries

  1. unfetteredbs says:

    you express yourself so beautifully

  2. Nice!This is my favorite so far! 🙂

  3. Harry says:

    Hi Chester you should have your invite, just check your spam mail, Harry

  4. julienmatei says:

    A great poem this one

  5. Atomsk21 says:

    That was really really good, I wish I was half as talented in the poetry department as you. Seriously keep it up!

  6. How do you find time to write so many poems? What else do you do?

  7. nightlake says:

    really well-expressed. wonderful..

  8. The thing I love the most about life are all these questions that sometimes have no answers to. They make existing such an interesting experience. 🙂

  9. Ian Moone says:

    great images created from this, good write

  10. regressada says:

    “answers are somewhere/deep in my longing/that i cannot/totally comprehend”

    beautiful. it reminds me something Lewis said,
    “If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”

Leave a Reply

