Remnant Of Sadness Quietly Asking The Walls

 

Chaos pops as

a bubble of wine

from the bottle of

open space in

July twilight

 

Altar candles burning

and our languages

are spoken by the

violet trees in our

foolish eyes

 

Bleak is the hour

when I spent

the night like a

remnant of sadness

quietly asking the walls

 

Is this a life in lack

when everyone is

looking for something

yet nothing comes

as candid answers?

 

I’m obviously reminded

that I’m here for

something more

important than myself

but for others and you

 

Wait and see

oh, life has surprises

I’m too expecting

outcomes of the good

and what you can say

 

It’s not fair

It’s not fair

I’d be here for awhile

oh, life has surprises and

I’m too expecting the good

 

 

2012

 

 

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Remnant Of Sadness Quietly Asking The Walls

  1. drsuraiyanasim says:

    Introspective and deep….life is full of ups and downs but we want to hope for the good. Real nice poem!

  2. shrewdbanana says:

    Love your first two verses – I could smell the violet trees in the dusky evening air
    🙂

  3. RoSy says:

    Nice poem
    This just jumped out at me.
    “I’m obviously reminded
    that I’m here for
    something more
    important than myself
    but for others and you”

  4. cynthiajobin says:

    I particularly like the title here….

  5. QueridaJ says:

    How exhilarating it is to hear my mundane inward thoughts and pleas written out in such captivating lines…what solace can be gained from a shared hope has been gratefully wringed out of your truth-ringed words. Thank you!

  6. Hi Chester ,

    Thank for following my site.
    I really like this poem, and I really like your style.
    You have a lot of talent, keep writing and keep in touch.

    regards

    Alan

  7. yes1and says:

    Hello Chester,
    This poem is lovely, and feels a bit like a glass of sparkling wine on the tongue. Thanks for stopping by and following my site — it’s always nice to meet a fellow poet.

  8. TarekOfCairo says:

    The first phrase is a hit .. Something i dream of .. Fresh start ..

  9. a very good reminder of hope. love it

  10. koisevilla says:

    we are put on this earth for others… kudos!

Leave a Reply

