magnolias on your dress

 

all secrets hide perfectly
to the magnolias on your dress
hurting the child of them
leaving marks by the ugly beast
down to nothing are memories
screaming at nights in repeated dreams
the sight is unbearable
i shut the door of my visits
and i’ll never return

 

2013

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to magnolias on your dress

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    This is a hard one Chester – I’ve ticked the “Like” as you’re touched on a tough topic here.

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    Chester, I post many “uncomfortable” pieces and have received vicious emails from so-called God fearing people. Bothers me not, as these emails reveal them more than they can ever hurt me.

    I hope you would post the “tough” ones – I’ve been following you for quite awhile as you know but don’t leave comments unless I feel compelled to.

    All good wishes, Eric

  3. Thank you! The only thing that can eat away at our soul is our secrets. Yep. Better to let some air in to get the healing revved up. Keep writing. Thanks! – joan

  4. Rohini Raman says:

    Deep and intense! Nice one.

  5. kristenhinz says:

    I love how powerful this poem is. Amazing job!

  6. Dicky says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  7. thanks for the follow! I look forward to following your blog too. 🙂

  8. Great work. Just beautiful. Very intense and moving.

  9. Kelsey King says:

    I love writing poems that make me hesitant to share…when people read them and give feedback its almost like a rush. It’s exciting and makes me nervous just because we’re putting ourselves out there in so many (carefully chosen) words. Your poem reads like such, exciting and dangerous yet bold and honest. (:

  10. ashcollins says:

    I like the image it evokes. We all have nightmares we would like to forget. This poem remind me of that.

Leave a Reply

