SoNgS oF tHe EnD

 

songs are sung in
the cathedral and
birds fly without
their notice

the crowd grieves
at the passing
of babies born
in africa

hardest part of
a mother is
losing her part
flesh and bone

songs end in
the cemetary
and departed beloved
weep in pain

 

2013

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to SoNgS oF tHe EnD

  1. That’s a powerful one Chester. Lots to mull over and a great trajectory.

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    You weaved in at least two strands here that I noticed – very clever and I enjoyed this read, Chester.

    Peace, Eric

  3. Easter Ellen says:

    You so aptly put your words to the mothers’ surges.

  4. slpmartin says:

    A very powerful poem…I could feel the emotions so well with these lines.

  5. That feels like a steel grip upon the heart! I remember the pain of losing my own little angel! Am a father and I still miss her.

  6. The indifference of things. Songs in the cathedral mean nothing to the birds outside. I like the paradox 0f “crowds grieve at the passing” It’s a difficult poem- but that’s what poetry should be- difficult.

  7. Ami Fidèle says:

    Hey, I nominated you for the liebster blog award, here are more details should you choose to accept,
    http://amidereve.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/libester-blog-award/
    Congratulations 🙂

  8. Leo says:

    Hi, I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. Take care.

  9. dogear6 says:

    I enjoyed your poetry – thanks for stopping by my blog and giving me an excuse to visit yours!

    Nancy

  10. shiroknowes says:

    This is really very beautiful written and unfortunately the truth!

  11. portiadery says:

    Love it! Great imagery

  12. Very moving, well done! I showed a pal of mine your blog (when she came over to give me a lesson on how to use mine!) and she was very impressed too (so don’t be surprised if you have a new follower tonight!). Thank you for your visits to my blog, I can only hope you like the poetry as much as I like yours and promise to check back soon. Kind regards,

    Kieran (Baldy) 🙂

  13. Ms. Vee says:

    Very moving, I felt the sorrow..

  14. maryamchahine says:

    Beautiful in depth and meaning!

Leave a Reply

