roads wide open

and
some people
hesitate

to walk
to run

instead

they hide
from the
covered
sidewalks

with thick
trees where
no one
can notice

others ask
why

yet
they can’t
find answers

and
the answers
are secretly
hiding

why
i ask
too

why
because
i’m also one

 

2014

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to roads wide open

  1. lostinmist says:

    I think you might benefit from longer line lengths in some places like ‘from the covered sidewalks’ for instance

  2. Fluency says:

    Not sure if your shift keys aren’t working lol but I think your non-capitalized poetry sets a good tone nonetheless. I’m liking what I see ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I actually enjoyed how you’ve used short lines and the intentional non capitalization. It gives the poem a sense of universality and helps the reader feel identified with what you’re describing. At least that’s how I felt ! I loved it !

  4. charlypriest says:

    Great poetry Iยดve been reading,glad you stumbled upon my blog.

  5. BookOfPain says:

    Don’t mind the style mongers and find your own voice. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a very sweet poem.

  6. KHanson says:

    Well put, BookOfPain. I enjoy your poems, and I look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

