shoebox

she keeps
her teacups
in the shoebox

i stop putting
treasures in
my shoebox

he throws
his secrets
in the shoebox

everything
and anything
we found in
the shoebox

when it is
empty of shoes
it becomes
more significant
as a shoebox

 

2014

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to shoebox

  1. georgetteann says:

    Quite true; I have a shoebox of treasures at the top of my closet! I love this. πŸ™‚

  2. he throws
    his secrets
    in the shoebox

  3. amac says:

    How true and perfectly captured. You made me think of all my treasures in my closet, squirreled away in shoeboxes.

Leave a Reply

