The Vanishing.

I lost my true self
Sometime ago.
Believing that life
Is more than normal,
I chose to compromise.

I entered a door
Different from yours.
Caught inside a world
Of thousand demons.
I chose to injure.

I hated myself
Sometime ago.
Changing the good
To redeem the bad.
I chose to forget.

I left a home
Sometime ago.
Hiding in many rooms
Until I don’t know myself.
I chose to fade.

When I wake up today,
I remember my face.
What I changed yesterday,
It comes back today.
I chose to remain.

 

2014

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Vanishing.

  1. I feel like it’s a little bit different than your usual poems, but I love this! ^^

  2. Andrew says:

    I like the tone of this poem. Keep writing.

  3. Andy Lee says:

    I love the tone of this poem also! Can really feel a dark emotion when reading it! Nice work Chester! 🙂

  4. brayvid says:

    yeah, I like the feel of it too. very well done.

  5. brayvid says:

    oh yeah, and I like the idea behind the choosing. Very real.

  6. It’s all about choice, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

