Sunflowers.

I can afford to dream.
To dream is free.
To dream is free.

I can afford to laugh.
To laugh is loud.
To laugh is loud.

I can afford to fly.
To fly is high.
To fly is high.

I can afford to go.
To go too far.
To go too far.

I can afford to know.
To know you now.
To know you now.

I can afford to think.
To think with no remorse.
To think with no remorse.

I can afford to love.
To love what I am.
To love who I am.

 

2014

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunflowers.

  1. geokalpataru says:

    well i guess i can afford to tell you that this was so nice!

  2. lramani33 says:

    I can afford to have the Sun Flowers.
    Nice.

  3. I like the sense of freedom to BE in this piece.

  4. Andy Lee says:

    Great poem Chester! I love this
    “I can afford to love.
    To love what I am.
    To love who I am.”
    A powerful finish. I like the sense of freedom too, and peace with one’s self. Brilliant poem

  5. farsails says:

    Chester, thank you for following my blog for 3 years. You are one of my longest WordPress.com followers! http://www.ChristianPoetryPublishing.WordPress.com

  6. I love this poem. I’ve read it several times. Each stanza takes the poem in a slightly different direction. This makes it surprising at each turn. “…to go too far.” And the ending wraps it up so well.

  7. moniqueh408 says:

    beautiful poem it could have been a song

Leave a Reply

