Alter Ego.

Part of you is
the me who always
hide under a name
that does not exist.

Part of you is
the someone who is
there when nobody
is really there.

Part of you is
the heart that
dwells to feel
thousand pretensions.

Part of you is
the song that
plays only when
no one is listening.

Part of you is
the road where
feet cannot walk
and they avoid.

Part of you is
the absence that
I always feel and
I feel no you.

 

2015

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Alter Ego.

  1. Hi. This is a great poem, but I want to read the last part as “I always feel when I feel no you” – it feels like it flows better. 🙂

    • Hello Jane. Thanks for the like and comment. Maybe what I want to convey in my last line when I wrote “I always feel AND I feel no you” is the constant feeling of someone else’s absence. Hope that makes sense with my use of the connector AND instead of WHEN 🙂

  2. petescribes says:

    I really like this – it is a rare I read a piece that leaves me feeling so connected with the words, thank you for sharing

  3. Nice work, from the beginning to end it pulled me in.

  4. This is actually so true..When one is not able to describe oneself..You have perfectly describe in words what can’t be done with feelings..Well deserved..Thanks…:)

  5. thankyou for taking the time to view my poems and writings .ive just read some of yours very nice and very interesting.

  6. Beautifully written! I like this part:
    Part of you is
    the someone who is
    there when nobody
    is really there.
    It’s true.. sometimes we just feel like we’re alone, but we don’t! There’s always the part of you who is there for yourself haha Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

