Void

You cross my mind
every time I see a
part of me that goes
away.

The only
thing that’s left
is nothing but my
broken heart.

I cannot put back
together the pieces
into a whole.

I cannot think of
more than a happy
memory.

My thoughts are
clouded, flooded
with every pain that
is here.

Whenever I
recall our past,

there’s nothing I
can feel but this
emptiness, this
void.

 

2015

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Void

  1. Love those opening lines.
    Powerful.

  2. glowofmind says:

    Truly beautiful 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Its all about perspective and commented:
    Even though I smile at the memories
    But with a jolt of reality,
    I surface to the empty feeling.

Leave a Reply

