Why I Am Not A Journalist

There is a dream that
is lost somewhere and
found by someone else.

One time ago I dreamed
to write my history and
lend my hands to the world.

But I did not become the one.
I walked the other road and
forced to enter another realm.

I chased a lost dream only
to realize that there were
years that made me useless.

Only to know how I let my
cowardice dominates the things
that I want to do.

I ended up becoming not I
really want to be and I cry
at nights to see myself defeated.

Now I am stuck in my plastic
world and yearn to see myself
in the truth of my talents.

2015

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Why I Am Not A Journalist

  1. journaljunky says:

    Very well spoken. I journal for the very reasons you don’t

  2. journaljunky says:

    Reblogged this on Chasing Thoughts and commented:
    Versed beautiful

  3. mytreetv says:

    #treetastic #poeTree! 😉

  4. Adebiyi A.A â€ĸīšâ€ĸ Ų„Ų‚Ų…Ų† says:

    lesson: Always strive hard to be who you’d love to be.

  5. Powerful! Especially the last line, the truth of my talents. Bravo. It appears you are already in that truth.

  6. Chester dear, I just nominated you for the Real Neat Blog award. I hope you make time to check it out here https://alibannadawn.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/real-neat-blog-award/ Thanks for always writing so beautifully and voicing what we are feeling.

  7. Queenie Resmundo says:

    Some people ask why I took Journalism when there’s no enough money in the said field. I ignored them because this is what I really want, and I’m the kind of person who doesn’t stick if I don’t like what I am doing. So, instead of doing the other way around, I took the risk and am now a third year in Journ. Hope you can still pursue that dream before you regret. 🙂

  8. afairymind says:

    Great poem! I can definitely relate to the sentiments you so wonderfully express. 🙂

  9. Good poem. Thanks for the visit and the follow.

  10. ritamcv says:

    I love the language “plastic world” and “truth of my talents”: the juxtaposition of the artificial and the real.

  11. tomwhelan says:

    Live the dream, don’t just chase it. Go for it!

  12. rayduchene says:

    After nearly half a century of reading, I have found more truth in fiction than in journalism.

  13. Sue Bianchi says:

    Hi Chester,
    Enjoyed your thoughts in your poem. I can relate.
    Thanks for following my blog.

  14. Thanks for the follow! Your poem captured what I feel so eloquently, I don’t have the words to share how I felt reading it. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

