I Do Not Own This World But My Soul

I
am desperate,
seriously desperate.

The
angst I’ve known,
I’ve thrown.

Cry
is an outlet of
a broken heart,

and
some time ago
I cried too hard.

In
the midst of these
voices in my head,

I
deflect and act to
dissolve the noise.

There
is a learning process
in the past.

There
is a a true friend
from now on.

There
will be great memories
in the future.

I
do not own this world
but my soul.

2015

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I Do Not Own This World But My Soul

  1. Beautiful and touching. I can relate so much here! Nice job!

  2. sumyanna says:

    Really nice one!

  3. tolawrites says:

    This is beautiful.

    “Cry is an outlet of a broken heart”… “There is a learning process in the past”

    Powerful words with deep meanings.
    God bless you for this, I have learnt a new thing.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I like the line, ‘There will be great memories in the future’ this personally means for me that I learned a lot from my past brokenness and I accepted it. Thanks for this poem.

  5. There is a lot of depth in this poem. Each one of the stanzas could be extended into a poem of its own. But my favorite of all the stanzas is the last one: I/do not own this world/but my soul.

  6. eathen grey says:

    you have a gift, thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

