I Am

I am the farmer
of the corns.
The field is
my ground.

I am the mouth
of the oppressed.
I defend the men
of slavery.

I am the toil
of my hands.
Authority commands
me to work.

I am the navigator
of my ship.
I go to the East,
West, South and North.

I am the color
of a rainbow.
There is hope to
every situation.

2015

2015

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Am

  1. Nick Gibbs says:

    ‘There is hope to every situation’… that’s a lovely last line. Sometimes I think you’re right, at others I am less sure. But a noble sentiment for the long dark teatime of the soul.

  2. Beautiful, Chester, well done!

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    Wow! I am in love with this. Blessings and peace.

Leave a Reply

