ThE mAgiC oF fiREfLiEs

I’m wide awake under these lights
They glimmer on and on, devouring my sight
Blinking a second might miss some million twinkles
I’d rather not be blind tonight

Let not this evening pass
For tomorrow morning it will be so unlike
I can’t take a break, I can’t take a nap
I’ve never been to this splendor

The sky sparks and the sky too bright
Where the pale moonlight is jealous
It’s breathtaking, astoundingly spellbinding
This hypnosis on the magic of fireflies

 

2012

About chester maynes

poet, and a lover of music and books.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ThE mAgiC oF fiREfLiEs

  1. ghfool says:

    Your poetry is very “Hemingway”. I don’t know how else to describe it at this point. Keep it up!

  2. thesubterraneanworld says:

    I have read couple of your poetries and they are way too superb!
    You have got a great style, a unique one though 🙂
    Keep writing, God Bless !
    Naima.

  3. Great poem, Chester!! And I love fireflies 🙂

  4. Brought back memories for me 🙂

  5. Sandy Green says:

    Really strong poem. Thanks for all your likes!

  6. boomiebol says:

    Magical :), I like

  7. That was so beautiful! Hemingway piece, I agree! Kudos, Chester!😊

  8. devgaangel says:

    Beautiful poem! So many memories with fireflies! 🙂 Great job!

  9. My favourite line from this poem is: “I’ve never been to this splendor”.
    What a beautiful poem! It so eloquently speaks of wonder and delight. 🙂

  10. Theo Merma says:

    First I wanna say thank you for liking this post https://thewritingcorpofficial.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/responsibility-of-an-article-writer/

    and second, I want to give this piece of your a verdict, no, not negative verdict. All I can say actually is— you are great, and keep writing from the heart 😉

  11. Steven L. Campbell says:

    Thanks for liking A Brief Pause in an Apple Orchard. I don’t write many poems but I enjoy reading them. Yours are wonderful imagery; a delight to read. I especially enjoy “Blinking a second might miss some million twinkles | I’d rather not be blind tonight” as I have felt that too while watching fireflies. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a comment